life(with 9th graders)

my attempt to write what goes on in my school, class, life.

Thursday, November 20, 2008

My house

Have I mentioned recently that I hate my house? Sometimes I really hate it. Like last night when I was trying to go to bed early and I discovered a leaking pipe in the upstairs bathroom. After 8 years in this house I can hear a leak from floors away. No really, I walk through the livingroom and hear a leak and make my roommates mute the television while I hunt it down. I think I have been 100% accurate so far. There is something in our well water which is causing minute "pin holes" in the pipes which the water shoots out of in a very thin hard stream. (Which begs the question, what is it doing to our insides?) I had noticed a little water on the floor by the sink before my shower (but blamed it on Bek or the cats). Then I heard it while I was standing there trying not to squirt lotion all over the place (me without glasses=difficultly) that small hissing sound. I crawled around on the floor till I found it--right on a 90 degree bend in the pipe where it comes up through the floor. It was shooting against the wall and running under the floor. I turned the water off between the hole and the sink, but that didn't stop the leak of course (just made my cat mad because she was hanging out in the sink with the water dribbling--how did I get this weird water loving cat?) . So I go to the basement to get a pan and rags--flooding in the basement! This leak must have occurred between Monday night and Wednesday night, because I checked the basement and the furnace on Monday night. (Tuesday I was using a pneumatic framing nailer to help redo floors at a friends house and I couldn't take time away from power tools to check my basement). Anyway, back to the flooded basement. I turned the water off in the basement and tied a rag to show the landlords which of the billions of knobs was off. Then, on my way back upstairs, I stopped in the livingroom to check behind the false wall in the corner to see how much water was there, because I realized why the leak hadn't been noticed in the bathroom--all the water was running to the basement leaving very little evidence upstairs. There was only a little water there, one towels worth. Back upstairs with a pan and 2 towels. For good measure, once the leak was stopped, I took apart the u-bend in the sink because Bek thought her ring had fallen in--no ring, just hair--gross hair. Got to play with my wind up flash light and both vise grips (stupid old sink can't hardly get the the pipes). Finally, I got to bed after explaining everything to the roommates so they can call the landlords (I hate the phone, I figure I deal with the leak, that's my contribution). So there, that is why I hate my house (although I might take that back if I build a fire this weekend, I love that my house has a fireplace).

1 Comments:

At Sunday, December 14, 2008 1:25:00 PM, Blogger MeesheMama said...

Thanks for the party! Fun for all. (On our way in and out, Elias was completely taken by the "frossy a snowman waif-ing" across the street from the house. No offense, but I think that might have been his favorite part. That, and the cat fountain....) =)

 

Post a Comment

<< Home